Mises Daily

15 Great Austrian Economists

15 Great Austrian Economists, a new book edited by Professor Randall Holcombe and published by the Mises Institute, has arrived and is ready for shipping.

You can order this book here

This collection presents ideas from the full sweep of intellectual history, highlighting 15 thinkers who made the greatest contribution to advancing the Austrian School of economics. These original essays are written by top Austrians who explain the Austrian view of property, markets, prices, competition, entrepreneurship, business cycles, and government policy.

Contributors include Murray Rothbard, Israel Kirzner, Joseph Salerno, Hans Hoppe, Jeffrey Herbener, Peter Klein, Mark Thornton, Jesús Huerta de Soto, Larry Sechrest, John Egger, Roger Garrison, Shawn Ritenour, Thomas DiLorenzo, and Jeffrey Tucker. Economists covered are de Mariana, Cantillon, Turgot, Say, Bastiat, Menger, Wicksteed, Böhm-Bawerk, Fetter, Mises, Hazlitt, Hayek, Hutt, Röpke, and Rothbard.

This book is a real treasure, with a beautiful cover and an excellent soft-cover binding, priced for wide distribution. It is sure to become a staple of the Austrian library. Thanks to everyone who made this possible!

258 pages; $12.95 plus S&H

Table of Contents:

Fifteen Great Austrian Economists
edited by Randall Holcombe

Introduction: The Austrian School: Past and Present
Randall G. Holcombe

1. Juan de Mariana: The Influence of the Spanish Scholastics
Jesús Huerta de Soto

2. Richard Cantillon: The Origin of Economic Theory
Mark Thornton

3. A.R.J. Turgot: Brief, Lucid, Brilliant
Murray N. Rothbard

4. Jean-Baptiste Say: Neglected Champion of Laissez-Faire
Larry J. Sechrest

5. Frederic Bastiat: Between the French and Marginalist Revolution
Thomas J. DiLorenzo

6. Carl Menger: The Founding of the Austrian School
Joseph T. Salerno

7. Philip Wicksteed: The British Austrian
Israel M. Kirzner

8. Eugen von Böhm-Bawerk: Capital, Interest, and Time
Roger W. Garrison

9. Frank Fetter: A Forgotten Giant
Jeffrey M. Herbener

10. Ludwig von Mises: Dean of the Austrian School
Murray N. Rothbard

11. Henry Hazlitt: The People’s Austrian
Jeffrey Tucker

12. F.A. Hayek: Austrian Economist and Social Theorist
Peter G. Klein

13. William Harold Hutt: The “Classical” Austrian
John B. Egger

14. Wilhelm Röpke: A Humane Economist
Shawn M. Ritenour

15. Murray N. Rothbard: Economics, Science, and Liberty
Hans-Hermann Hoppe

All Rights Reserved ©
What is the Mises Institute?

The Mises Institute is a non-profit organization that exists to promote teaching and research in the Austrian School of economics, individual freedom, honest history, and international peace, in the tradition of Ludwig von Mises and Murray N. Rothbard. 

Non-political, non-partisan, and non-PC, we advocate a radical shift in the intellectual climate, away from statism and toward a private property order. We believe that our foundational ideas are of permanent value, and oppose all efforts at compromise, sellout, and amalgamation of these ideas with fashionable political, cultural, and social doctrines inimical to their spirit.

Become a Member
Mises Institute