Austrian Economics Research Conference 2019

- Event

Revised Final Schedule | Photo Album

The Austrian Economics Research Conference is the international, interdisciplinary meeting of the Austrian School, bringing together leading scholars doing research in this vibrant and influential intellectual tradition. The conference is hosted by the Mises Institute at its campus in Auburn, Alabama, and is directed by Joseph Salerno, professor of economics at Pace University and academic vice president of the Mises Institute.

Students: see scholarship application process at bottom of page.

The conference begins with an informal welcoming reception Thursday, March 21 at Auburn University Hotel, 5:30 - 7:30 p.m. Central time. Conference registration takes place throughout the day on Friday, March 22 at the Mises Institute, 518 West Magnolia Avenue. Sessions begin Friday at 9:30 a.m. at the Mises Institute and continue throughout the day Friday and Saturday, ending with a gala 70th birthday reception for Hans-Hermann Hoppe, Saturday 5:30 - 6:30 p.m. A preliminary schedule is here. A final schedule will be posted on this page before the conference.

Besides paper sessions and symposia, the conference includes a special panel discussing the work of Hans-Hermann Hoppe, with comments by Hoppe, and five named keynote lecturers, two lunches, and two receptions. Also, the awarding of three cash prizes: Lawrence W. Fertig Prize of $1,500 to the author of a paper that best advances economic science in the Austrian tradition; the O.P. Alford III Prize of $1,500 to the author of the paper that best advances scholarship in the application of Austrian economic theory or libertarian theory to political, economic, or social issues; and the Grant Aldrich Graduate Student Essay Prize of $1,000 plus conference admission and accommodations to a graduate student who presents the best paper in Austrian economics or libertarian political economy.

Named Lectures

Ludwig von Mises Memorial Lecture (Sponsored by Yousif Almoayyed):  Michael Rectenwald "Libertarianism(s) versus Postmodernism and 'Social Justice' Ideology"
Murray N. Rothbard Memorial Lecture (Sponsored by Don Printz): David Duerr "The Inescapability of Law: and of Mises, Rothbard, and Hoppe"
Henry Hazlitt Memorial Lecture (Sponsored by Hunter Lewis): Robert Luddy "Henry Hazlitt's Long-Term Economic Thinking: Foundation of Entrepreneurial Excellence"
F.A. Hayek Memorial Lecture (Sponsored by Joy and Greg Morin):  Randall Holcombe "Political Capitalism: How Economic and Political Power is Made and Maintained"
Lou Church Memorial Lecture (Sponsored by The Lou Church Foundation):  Daniel Ajamian "The Cost of the Enlightenment"
Special Panel: "The Significance of Hans-Hermann Hoppe" (Sponsored by Steve and Cassandra Torello)

Notable past lecturers include, among others, Murray Rothbard, Dominick Armentano, Caroline Baum, Brendan Brown, William Butos, Patrick Byrne, Gene Epstein, Nicolai Foss, Jim Grant, Ronald Hamowy, Robert Higgs, Hans-Hermann Hoppe, Hunter Lewis, George Reisman, Paul Ruben, Peter Schiff, Jeremy Shearmur, Sudha Shenoy, Gerald Steele, David Stockman, John Tamny, Tom Woods, Bruce Yandle, and Leland Yeager.

Proposals for individual papers, complete paper sessions or symposia, and interactive workshops are encouraged. Papers should be well developed, but at a stage where they can still benefit from the group's discussion. Preference will be given to recent papers that have not been presented at major conferences. All topics related to Austrian economics, broadly conceived, and related social-science disciplines and business disciplines such as management, strategy, and entrepreneurship are appropriate for the conference. Proposals from junior faculty and PhD students are especially encouraged. Abstracts should be limited to 750 words. All proposals are peer reviewed by the AERC Program Committee.

Submit your proposal to by January 29. Proposals after the deadline will be considered as space permits. Decisions will be communicated by February 5.

Submissions for the Grant Aldrich Graduate Student Essay should be sent to by January 28 using the subject line Aldrich Prize. The paper may be on any topic related to Austrian economics or libertarian political economy. Applicants should submit a completed academic paper (which could be a thesis or dissertation chapter) and a CV. Decisions will be communicated by February 5. Finalists receive complimentary conference admission and accommodations, as well as presenting their papers in a special session at the conference. The winner must be present to accept the award. If papers do not qualify for the Aldrich Prize, they will automatically be submitted for consideration in a general conference session.

Nominations for Fertig and Alford Prizes should be submitted to Dr. Mark Thornton by January 29. Winners will be announced at the conference during the live broadcast.


For a hotel room at Auburn University Hotel phone 334-821-8200 before February 18. Be sure to mention Austrian Economics Research Conference of the Mises Institute for the special rate of $142 plus tax (for single or double room). Or make your reservation online here. If Auburn University Hotel is full, we recommend Auburn GameDay Center (334-826-8870) around the corner from the Mises Institute, and be sure to mention you are with the Institute. If you are driving there are other hotels in the Auburn area that are not within walking distance of the Mises Institute.

For Faculty and Presenters, the early discounted registration fee is $228. (After February 25 the registration fee is $285.) The early discounted registration fee for Member Observers not presenting a paper is $316 per person ($395 after February 25). Become a Member for $60 and register today at the Member price. (Call 800-636-4737 to check if your Membership is current.) Registration covers all sessions, reception, two lunches, coffee breaks, and daily shuttles between AU Hotel and the Institute. Member Observers are requested to refrain from questions or comments during sessions, but discussion is welcome during meals and breaks. Registration fees cannot be disaggregated.

There is a $25 processing fee for refunds of paid registrations. Contact Patricia Barnett with questions.

Atlanta, Georgia airport is the only airport offering shuttle service to Auburn, Alabama, which is an hour and 45 minutes south of Atlanta airport. Atlanta is in eastern time zone and Auburn is an hour behind in central time zone.

Shuttle between Atlanta airport and Auburn
Driving directions to Auburn

Visiting Scholars Manual: Attendance at the Austrian Economics Research Conference indicates your acceptance of the terms outlined in the Mises Institute Visiting Scholars Manual.

Student Scholarship Applications

A limited number of scholarships are available for qualified full-time students, including complimentary sessions and lunches. Travel grants are not available. Undergraduate students are requested to refrain from questions or comments during sessions. Students wishing to apply for a scholarship can do so here.

Publicity Waiver: Registering for this event gives the Mises Institute permission to take photos, record videos, and receive statements of and from attendees for promotional purposes. By this authorization, attendees understand and agree that no participant shall receive remuneration and that all rights, title and interest to the photos, videos, and statements and use thereof belong to the Mises Institute.

All Rights Reserved ©