Austrian Economics Research Conference 2022

AERC 2022
- Event
Register Now

Important notice for international travelers: The Biden Administration requires foreign international travelers to be fully vaccinated to enter the United States. All international travelers must submit proof of a negative covid test result prior to entry. For more information, please see here or contact your local embassy.

View the schedule here. Photos of this event are available at

The Austrian Economics Research Conference is the international, interdisciplinary meeting of the Austrian school, bringing together leading scholars doing research in this vibrant and influential intellectual tradition. The conference is hosted by the Mises Institute at its campus in Auburn, Alabama, and is directed by Joseph Salerno, professor emeritus of economics at Pace University and academic vice president of the Mises Institute.

The conference begins on Thursday, March 17 at Auburn University Hotel with an informal welcome session from 5:30 – 7:30 p.m. central time. This welcome session is limited to paid event attendees and presenters. Attendees and presenters may bring one guest (reception guest ticket required). No children under 16 are allowed at the event. Tickets can be purchased below and are only valid for the welcome reception. Registration is for paid attendees only and takes place throughout the day on Friday, March 18, at the Mises Institute, 518 West Magnolia Avenue. Sessions begin Friday at 9:30 a.m. at the Mises Institute and continue throughout the day Friday and Saturday.

Named Lectures

Ludwig von Mises Memorial Lecture (Sponsored by Dr. Don Printz): Dr. Andrei Znamenski
Murray N. Rothbard Memorial Lecture (Sponsored by Steven and Cassandra Torello): Dr. Paul F. Cwik 
Henry Hazlitt Memorial Lecture (Sponsored by Yousif Almoayyed): Mr. Alex J. Pollock 
F.A. Hayek Memorial Lecture (Sponsored by Greg and Joy Morin): Dr. Francis Buckley
Lou Church Memorial Lecture (Sponsored by The Lou Church Foundation): Dr. Jason Jewell 

Notable past lecturers include, among others, Murray Rothbard, Dominick Armentano, Caroline Baum, Walter Block, Brendan Brown, William Butos, Patrick Byrne, Gene Epstein, Nicolai Foss, Jim Grant, Ronald Hamowy, Robert Higgs, Hans-Hermann Hoppe, Hunter Lewis, George Reisman, Paul Ruben, Peter Schiff, Jeremy Shearmur, Sudha Shenoy, Gerald Steele, David Stockman, John Tamny, Tom Woods, Bruce Yandle, and Leland Yeager.
Proposals for individual papers, complete paper sessions or symposia, and interactive workshops are encouraged. Papers should be well developed, but at a stage where they can still benefit from the group’s discussion. Preference will be given to recent papers that have not been presented at major conferences. Papers that have already been published are not eligible. All topics related to Austrian economics, broadly conceived, and related social-science disciplines and business disciplines such as management, strategy, and entrepreneurship are appropriate for the conference. Submitted abstracts should clearly demonstrate the paper’s relevancy to Austrian economics and be limited to 250 words.  Papers not adhering to these criteria will be rejected without further review. All proposals are peer reviewed by the AERC Program Committee. Proposals from junior faculty and PhD students are especially encouraged.

Submit your proposal using this form by January 21. Proposals after the deadline will be considered as space permits. Decisions will be communicated by January 28.

Contest and Awards

The Mises Institute awards three cash prizes for papers presented at this conference:
The Lawrence W. Fertig Prize of $1,500 to the author who best advances economic science in the Austrian tradition; The O.P. Alford III Prize of $1,500 to the author who best advances scholarship in the application of Austrian economic theory or libertarian theory to political, economic, or social issues; and
The Kenneth Garschina Graduate Student Essay Prize of $1,500 (plus conference admission and accommodations) to the graduate student with the best paper in Austrian economics or libertarian political economy.

Students may submit their paper here for the Kenneth Garschina Graduate Student Essay Contest on or before January 21.  The paper may be on any topic related to Austrian economics or libertarian political economy. Applicants should submit a CV and a robust abstract of approximately 500 words, and a completed academic research paper of 8,000 words or less (not a dissertation chapter). Submissions should be from current graduate students, not former or current professors. Finalists receive complimentary conference admission and accommodations, as well as presenting their papers in a special session at the conference. The winner must be present to accept the award. If you wish for your Garschina submission to also be considered for presentation in a regular session please submit a separate abstract-only using this form

Nominations for Fertig and Alford Prizes should be published papers from within the last two years and emailed to Winners will be announced at the conference during the live broadcast.

Accommodations and Fees

For a hotel room at Auburn University Hotel phone 334–821–8200 or use this link before February 14. Be sure to mention Austrian Economics Research Conference of the Mises Institute for the special rate of $149 plus tax (for single or double room).  Parking is available at AU Hotel to guests at a rate of $10 per night self-parking, $15 per night valet parking. 

For Faculty and Presenters, the early discounted registration fee is $228. (After February 24 the registration fee is $285.) The early discounted registration fee for Member Observers not presenting a paper is $316 per person ($395 after February 24). Become a Member for $60 and register today at the Member price. (Call 800-636-4737 to check if your Membership is current.) Registration covers all sessions, two receptions, two lunches, coffee breaks, and daily shuttles between AU Hotel and the Institute. Member Observers are requested to refrain from questions or comments during sessions, but discussion is welcome during meals and breaks. Registration fees cannot be disaggregated.

Email Felicia Jones with questions,

Most attendees fly into Atlanta, Georgia airport, which is an hour and 45 minutes north of Auburn. Atlanta is in eastern time zone and Auburn is an hour behind in central time zone.

Shuttle between Atlanta airport and Auburn 

Shuttle between Atlanta, Birmingham, Montgomery or Columbus GA airports and Auburn

Driving directions to Auburn  

Visiting Scholars Manual: Attendance at the Austrian Economics Research Conference indicates your acceptance of the terms outlined in the Mises Institute Visiting Scholars Manual.

Student scholarships include conference admission, two lunches, and two receptions. Students who present a paper will be provided with accommodations. Apply for a scholarship here.
Powered by Causeview

Publicity Waiver: Registering for this event gives the Mises Institute permission to take photos, record videos, and receive statements of and from attendees for promotional purposes. By this authorization, attendees understand and agree that no participant shall receive remuneration and that all rights, title and interest to the photos, videos, and statements and use thereof belong to the Mises Institute.

All Rights Reserved ©