1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to sidebar

The Ludwig von Mises Institute

Advancing Austrian Economics, Liberty, and Peace

Advancing the scholarship of liberty in the tradition of the Austrian School

Search Mises.org

Mises Institute Awards

Mises Institute Awards

SchlarbaumRothbardFertigAlfordGroseclose | French| Eddy | Koether | Entrepreneur | Examinations

The Gary G. Schlarbaum Prize: For lifetime defense of liberty, given 1999-2012, awarded $10,000 and medallion to a public intellectual or distinguished scholar

Murray N. Rothbard Medal of Freedom: In recognition of significant and wide-ranging libertarian leadership, as a scholar or public intellectual, established through the generosity of George W. Connell.

The Lawrence W. Fertig Prize in Austrian Economics: $1,000 to the author of a paper that best advances economic science in the Austrian tradition

The O.P. Alford III Prize in Political Economy: $1,000 to the author of the paper that best advances scholarship in the application of Austrian economic theory or libertarian theory to political, economic, or social issues. 

Ludwig von Mises Entrepreneurship Award: Certificate and beautiful inscribed medallion awarded to businesspeople exhibiting entrepreneurial success and devotion to the free-market ideal.

The George F. Koether Free-Market Writing Award, a medal and $2,500 honorarium, presented for an outstanding book or essay.

The Elgin Groseclose Award: $20 Liberty Head Double Eagle, goes to the best piece of money writing in the previous year.

Mündliche Prüfung Conference Examinations

The Douglas E. French Prize: $2,500 for the student who emerges from the Mises University oral examinations with the best record, as chosen by the examining committee.

George and Joele Eddy Prize: $1,500 for the second-highest score on the Mises University examinations, and $750 for the third-highest score.

         Mises University 2014 overall results

         Mises University 2013 overall results

         Mises University 2012 overall results

      Mises University 2011 overall results