Austrian Economics Research Conference 2024

AERC 2024
- Event
Register Now

The schedule for the conference is here Watch lecture videos Event photo album

Students apply here for a scholarship

The Austrian Economics Research Conference is the international, interdisciplinary meeting of the Austrian school, bringing together leading scholars doing research in this vibrant and influential intellectual tradition. 2024 marks the 50th anniversary of the South Royalton Austrian Economics Conference. In honor of this landmark event, there will be sessions and lectures dedicated to evaluating the advances of Austrian economics over the last half century. The conference is hosted by the Mises Institute at its campus in Auburn, Alabama, and is directed by Joseph Salerno, academic vice president of the Mises Institute and professor emeritus of economics at Pace University.

The conference begins on Thursday, March 21 at the Auburn University Hotel with an informal welcome session from 5:30 – 7:30 p.m. central time. This welcome session is limited to paid event attendees and presenters. Only registered attendees are permitted at the conference. No children under 16 years old are allowed. Registration takes place throughout the day on Friday, March 22, at the Mises Institute, 518 W Magnolia Avenue. Sessions begins Friday morning at the Mises Institute and continue throughout the day Friday and Saturday.

Named Lectures:
  • Ludwig von Mises Memorial Lecture Murray Sabrin, sponsored by Yousif Almoayyed
  • Murray N. Rothbard Memorial Lecture J. Michael Oliver, sponsored by Steve and Cassandra Torello
  • Henry Hazlitt Memorial Lecture Edward W. Younkins, sponsored by Shone and Brae Sadler
  • F. A. Hayek Memorial Lecture Nicolás Cachanosky, sponsored by Donald and Judy Rembert

Notable past lecturers include, among others, Murray Rothbard, Dominick Armentano, Caroline Baum, Walter Block, Brendan Brown, William Butos, Patrick Byrne, Gene Epstein, Nicolai Foss, Jim Grant, Ronald Hamowy, Robert Higgs, Hans-Hermann Hoppe, Hunter Lewis, George Reisman, Paul Ruben, Peter Schiff, Jeremy Shearmur, Sudha Shenoy, Gerald Steele, David Stockman, John Tamny, Tom Woods, Bruce Yandle, and Leland Yeager.


Proposals for individual papers, complete paper sessions or symposia, and interactive workshops are encouraged. Papers should be well developed, but at a stage where they can still benefit from the group’s discussion. Preference will be given to recent papers that have not been presented at major conferences. Papers that have already been published are not eligible. All topics are related to Austrian economics, broadly conceived, and related social-science disciplines and business disciplines such as management, strategy, and entrepreneurship are appropriate for the conference. Submitted abstracts should clearly demonstrate the paper’s relevancy to Austrian economics and be limited to 250 words. Papers not adhering to these criteria will be rejected without further review. All proposals are peer reviewed by the AERC Program Committee. Proposals from junior faculty and PhD students are especially encouraged. Please submit your proposal here by Friday, January 26, 2024. Proposals after the deadline will be considered as space permits. Decisions will be communicated by February 9, 2024.

Contests and Awards:
  • Lawrence W. Fertig Prize: $1,500 to the author who best advances economic science in the Austrian tradition
  • O.P. Alford III Prize: $1,500 to the author who best advances scholarship in the application of Austrian economic theory or libertarian theory to political, economic, or social issues
  • Kenneth Garschina Graduate Student Essay Contest: Henry Hazlitt was the premier economic journalist of the twentieth century. Unlike most journalists, he had exceptional insight in economic theory as exemplified by his great work The Failure of ‘The New Economics.’ The Mises Institute is holding an essay contest in 2024 to celebrate the 65th anniversary of Henry Hazlitt’s what Murray Rothbard called “the best and most thorough exercise in economic demolition since Böhm-Bawerk exploded Marx’s labor theory of value.” Graduate students are invited to submit essays that use Hazlitt’s 1959 refutation of John Maynard Keynes to expose the key errors of contemporary macroeconomics. Essays should be no more than 5,000 words in length. Prizes of  $1,500, $1,000, and $750 will be awarded to the top three essays. Prize winners will be invited to present their papers at AERC 2024, with conference registration fees waived and accommodations paid for (travel not included). Please submit your essay here before February 9, 2024.
  • Undergraduate Student Essay Contest: The Mises Institute is holding an essay contest in 2024 to celebrate the 80th anniversary of Ludwig von Mises’s Bureaucracy. Entrants are encouraged to explore the themes of Mises’s essay and their implications for human prosperity and flourishing under capitalism, socialism, and interventionism. Essays should be 1,500–2,000 words in length. Prizes of $1,500, $1,000, and $750 will be awarded to the top three essays. Prize winners will be invited to present their papers at AERC 2024, with conference registration fees waived and accommodations paid for (travel not included). Please submit your essay here before February 9, 2024

***Nominations for Fertig and Alford prizes should be published papers from within the last two years and submitted here. Winners will be announced at the conference during the live broadcast.

**Share the student essay contests with undergraduates and graduates you know!

Accommodations and Fees

For a hotel room at the Auburn University Hotel, use this link to book online, or phone 334-821-8200. Be sure to mention the Mises Institute event for the special rate of $169 per night, plus tax (for a single or double room). Parking is available at the AU Hotel to guests at a rate of $10 per night self-parking or $15 per night valet parking. 

For Faculty and Presenters, the early discounted registration fee is $285 (after March 1 the registration fee is $335.) The registration fee for Observers not presenting a paper is $395 per person. Registration covers all sessions, two receptions, two lunches, coffee breaks, and daily shuttles between the AU Hotel and the Institute. Observers are requested to refrain from questions or comments during sessions, but discussion is welcome during meals and breaks. 

Email Felicia Jones with questions,


Most attendees fly into the Atlanta airport, which is an hour and 45 minutes north of Auburn. Atlanta is in the eastern time zone and Auburn is an hour behind in the central time zone. 

Shuttle between Atlanta airport and Auburn

Shuttle between Atlanta, Birmingham, Montgomery, or Columbus, GA airports and Auburn

Driving directions to Auburn

Publicity Waiver: Registering for this event gives the Mises Institute permission to take photos, record videos, and receive statements of and from attendees for promotional purposes. By this authorization, attendees understand and agree that no participant shall receive remuneration and that all rights, title and interest to the photos, videos, and statements and use thereof belong to the Mises Institute.

All Rights Reserved ©