Austrian Economics Research Conference 2018

AERC 2018
- Event

View Final Schedule | Photos of this event are available at

The Austrian Economics Research Conference is the international, interdisciplinary meeting of the Austrian School, bringing together leading scholars doing research in this vibrant and influential intellectual tradition. The conference is hosted by the Mises Institute at its campus in Auburn, Alabama, and is directed by Joseph Salerno, professor of economics at Pace University and academic vice president of the Mises Institute.

Students: see scholarship application process at bottom of page.

The conference begins with an informal welcoming reception Thursday, March 22 at Auburn University Hotel, 5:30 - 7:30 p.m. Central time. Conference registration takes place throughout the day on Friday, March 23 at the Mises Institute, 518 West Magnolia Avenue. Sessions begin Friday at 9:30 a.m. at the Mises Institute and continue throughout the day Friday and Saturday, ending with a social hour Saturday 5:30 - 6:30 p.m. A preliminary schedule will be posted on this page in February.

Besides paper sessions and symposia, the conference includes five named keynote lecturers and two lunches. Also, the awarding of three cash prizes: Lawrence W. Fertig Prize of $1,500 to the author of a paper that best advances economic science in the Austrian tradition; the O.P. Alford III Prize of $1,500 to the author of the paper that best advances scholarship in the application of Austrian economic theory or libertarian theory to political, economic, or social issues; and the Grant Aldrich Graduate Student Essay Prize of $1,000 plus conference admission and accommodations to a graduate student who presents the best paper in Austrian economics or libertarian political economy.

Named Lectures

Ludwig von Mises Memorial Lecture (Sponsored by Yousif Almoayyed): Kevin Dowd "The Failure of Monetary Stimulus" [Watch Live]
Murray N. Rothbard Memorial Lecture (Sponsored by Helio Beltrao): Richard Ebeling "Lessons About Mises the Man from His Moscow 'Lost Papers'" [Watch Live]
Henry Hazlitt Memorial Lecture (Sponsored by Hunter Lewis): James Bovard "Why Washington Never Learns"
F.A. Hayek Memorial Lecture (Sponsored by Greg and Joy Morin): Roger Garrison "The Road to Hayek"
Lou Church Memorial Lecture (Sponsored by the Lou Church Foundation): Shawn Ritenour "Austrian Economics as Common Grace"

Notable past lecturers include, among others, Murray Rothbard, Dominick Armentano, Caroline Baum, Brendan Brown, William Butos, Patrick Byrne, Gene Epstein, Nicolai Foss, Jim Grant, Ronald Hamowy, Robert Higgs, Hans-Hermann Hoppe, Hunter Lewis, George Reisman, Paul Ruben, Peter Schiff, Jeremy Shearmur, Sudha Shenoy, Gerald Steele, David Stockman, John Tamny, Tom Woods, Bruce Yandle, and Leland Yeager.

Proposals for individual papers, complete paper sessions or symposia, and interactive workshops are encouraged. Papers should be well developed, but at a stage where they can still benefit from the group's discussion. Preference will be given to recent papers that have not been presented at major conferences. All topics related to Austrian economics, broadly conceived, and related social-science disciplines and business disciplines such as management, strategy, and entrepreneurship are appropriate for the conference. Proposals from junior faculty and PhD students are especially encouraged. Abstracts should be limited to 750 words. All proposals are peer reviewed by the AERC Program Committee.

Submit your proposal to by January 29. Proposals after the deadline will be considered as space permits. Decisions will be communicated by February 5.

Submissions for the Grant Aldrich Graduate Student Essay should be sent to by January 22 using the subject line Aldrich Prize. The paper may be on any topic related to Austrian economics or libertarian political economy. Applicants should submit a completed academic paper (which could be a thesis or dissertation chapter) and a CV. Decisions will be communicated by February 5.

Nominations for Fertig and Alford Prizes should be submitted to Dr. Mark Thornton by January 29. Winners will be announced at the conference during the live broadcast.


For a hotel room at Auburn University Hotel phone 334-821-8200 before March 1. Be sure to mention Austrian Economics Research Conference of the Mises Institute for the special rate of $139 plus tax (for single or double room). Or make your reservation online here. If Auburn University Hotel is full, we recommend Auburn GameDay Center (334-826-8870) around the corner from the Mises Institute, and be sure to mention you are with the Institute. If you are driving there are other hotels in the Auburn area that are not within walking distance of the Mises Institute.

For Faculty and Presenters, the early discounted registration fee is $228. (After February 17 the registration fee is $285.) The early discounted registration fee for Member Observers not presenting a paper is $316 per person ($395 after February 17). Become a Member for $60 and register today at the Member price. (Call 800-636-4737 to check if your Membership is current.) Registration covers all sessions, reception, two lunches, coffee breaks, and daily shuttles between AU Hotel and the Institute. Member Observers are requested to refrain from questions or comments during sessions, but discussion is welcome during meals and breaks. Registration fees cannot be disaggregated.

There is a $25 processing fee for refunds of paid registrations. Contact Patricia Barnett with questions.

Shuttle between Atlanta airport and Auburn
Driving directions to Auburn

Visiting Scholars Manual: Attendance at the Austrian Economics Research Conference indicates your acceptance of the terms outlined in the Mises Institute Visiting Scholars Manual

Student Scholarship Applications

A limited number of scholarships are available for qualified full-time students, including complimentary sessions and lunches. Travel grants are not available. Undergraduate students are requested to refrain from questions or comments during sessions. Students wishing to apply for a scholarship can do so here.

Publicity Waiver: Registering for this event gives the Mises Institute permission to take photos, record videos, and receive statements of and from attendees for promotional purposes. By this authorization, attendees understand and agree that no participant shall receive remuneration and that all rights, title and interest to the photos, videos, and statements and use thereof belong to the Mises Institute.

All Rights Reserved ©