Conceived in Liberty

Murray N. Rothbard

Click here for Conceived in Liberty, Volume 5: The New Republic: 1784–1791

There’s never been a better time to remember the revolutionary and even libertarian roots of the American founding, and there’s no better guide to what this means in the narrative of the Colonial period than Murray Rothbard.

For anyone who thinks of Murray Rothbard as only an economic theorist or political thinker, this giant book is something of a surprise. It is probably his least known treatise. It offers a complete history of the Colonial period of American history, a period lost to students today, who are led to believe American history begins with the US Constitution.

Rothbard’s ambition was to shed new light on Colonial history and show that the struggle for human liberty was the heart and soul of this land from its discovery through the culminating event of the American Revolution. These volumes are a tour de force, enough to establish Rothbard as one of the great American historians.

It is a detailed narrative history of the struggle between liberty and power, as we might expect, but it is more. Rothbard offers a third alternative to the conventional interpretive devices. Against those on the right who see the American Revolution as a “conservative” event, and those on the left who want to invoke it as some sort of proto-socialist uprising, Rothbard views this period as a time of accelerating libertarian radicalism. Through this prism, Rothbard illuminates events as never before.

The original four volumes were published in the 1970s, but the odd timing and uneven distribution prevented any kind of large audience. They were beloved only by a few specialists, and sought after by many, thanks to their outstanding reputation. The Mises Institute is pleased to be the publisher of this integrated edition.

This single volume covers the discovery of the Americas and the colonies in the 17th century, the period of “salutary neglect” in the first half of the 18th century, the advance to revolution, from 1760-1775 and the political, military, and ideological history of the revolution and after.

Conceived in Liberty by Murray N. Rothbard
Meet the Author
Murray N. Rothbard
Murray N. Rothbard

Murray N. Rothbard made major contributions to economics, history, political philosophy, and legal theory. He combined Austrian economics with a fervent commitment to individual liberty.

Murray N. Rothbard
Foreword We do not need a technocratic elite to manage the supply of money. In these three short articles, Murray N. Rothbard removes the Federal Reserve’s veil of scientific mystique to reveal a wholly unnecessary and malignant system. Rothbard
View Murray N. Rothbard bio and works

Auburn, AL: Mises Institute 2011

Conceived in Liberty, Volume 5: The New Republic: 1784–1791
Murray N. Rothbard
Edited by Patrick Newman
Foreword by Judge Andrew P. Napolitano
Preface by Thomas E. Woods, Jr.
Published by the Mises Institute, 2019
ISBN: 978-1-61016-708-6

The Mises Institute dedicates this volume to all of its generous Supporters and wishes to thank these, in particular:


Remy Demarest
Michael H. Denyer, MD
Prof. Dr. Hans-Hermann Hoppe and Dr. A. Gülçin Imre Hoppe
James E. Kluttz, in memory of Earle C. and Mary Katharine Fisher Kluttz
Mr. and Mrs. Mark Stephens Murrah, in honor of Lew Rockwell
William S. Ramagosa, Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. Gary J. Turpanjian


Abdelhamid Abdou
Matthew P. Allen
Dr. John Bartel
Steven R. Berger
Karl R. Blasius
Carl S. Creager
Tony Delserone
Don Dillon
Dr. Stephen Dincher
Christopher D. Engl
Dr. Larry J. Eshelman
Christopher Georgacas
Juliana and Hunter Hastings
Albert L. Hillman, Jr.
Hunter Lewis and Elizabeth Sidamon-Eristoff
Arthur L. Loeb
Naju G. Mancheril
Joseph Edward Paul Melville, in memory of Stanley Paul & Anne Marie Melville
James Nardulli
Robert S. Ralston
Thomas Ressler
top dog™
James M. Rodney Keith and Darla Smith
Steven and Cassandra Torello
Allan Vogel
Don and Evy Warmbier
William P. Weidner
Dr. Thomas L. Wenck
Ronald B. Williams
Brian J. Wilton
Mr. and Mrs. Walter F. Woodul III


Sarfarazali Naushad Abbas
J. Ryan and Elizabeth Alford
Mr. and Mrs. Harvey Allison Dr. Lee Allison
Jorge F. Roca Arteta
Yuri Babich
Mr. and Mrs. Jeffrey F. Barr
George S. Baugh
Gennaro P. Bianchi
Mr. and Mrs. Klint Blasi
Richard B. Bleiberg, in memory of Robert M. Bleiberg who likewise taught me the true value of psychic income
Dr. Carlo Albert Bosello
Bob and Rita Bost
Roger and Angela Box
Donald Burger
John Lucius Buttolph, III
Colby Callahan
Prof. Paul Cantor
David Capshaw
Robert Cook
Peter Cooper
Prof. and Mrs. James M. Cox
Dr. Kirby Cundiff
Dr. Ernest Curtis
D. Allen Dalton
Ryan Thomas DeRaleau
Paul J. Dietrich
Randall Dollahon and Kathleen Lacey
Karin Domrowski
William Eaton
David J. Emery
Mr. and Mrs. Dario Fernandez, in honor of John David Fernandez, a true genius in the Columbia U. tradition of M. Rothbard
Donna and Willard Fischer
Jean-Luc Doucet
David and Toshiko Fusato
Dietmar Georg
Joel Gompert
Marven Goodman, in memory of Leonard Goodman
Guarneri Family
Richard Gullotti
Andrew Hahn
Charles F. Hanes
Wayne Harley
Jeffrey and DeAnn Harris
Charles H. Hartman
Mr. and Mrs. Jule R. Herbert, Jr.
Dr. Frederic Herman
Adam W. Hogan
Greg E. Hood
James A. Howe
Samuel J. Kain
Dr. John A. Kasch>
Richard J. Kossmann, MD
Jeff Leskovar
Floy Lilley
Maylin Lin, in memory of Susan Shieh, Knoxville, TN
John Livingston
Dr. Antonio A. Lloréns-Rivera
Dr. Charles W. Martin
David R. Mason
Mark McGrath
Michael D. McGregor
Brian E. Millsap
Robert A. Moore
Gary J. Myre
Dr. Michael Nelson
Jacob Nemchenok
David Nolan
One Horizon Foundation
Diana V. Orrock
Ernest L. Ortiz
Andrew Packer
Dr. and Mrs. Timothy W.C. Pattison
Paul F. Peppard
Jay Peters
Plus Minus Inc.
Wiley A. Rariden, in honor of NH Senator John Reagan
Richard Rochelle
Peter A. Roof
Thomas S. Ross
Dr. and Mrs. Murray Sabrin
Thad and Cyndy Salmon Albert Schrautemyer
Henri Etel Skinner
Carlton M. Smith
Mr. and Mrs. Dennis A. Sperduto
Michael and Cheryl Stack
Charles E. Stafford, Sr.
Richard L. Stees
Jeffrey A. Steinport
David B. Stern
Robert E. Stewart, in memory of Gloria H. Stewart
Dirck W. Storm Ted Tobey
Jacob T. Townson
John F. Tubridy
Joseph VonLehman
Mark Walker
Dr. J. Stanley Warford
Mark G. Warner
Wayne G. Whitmore
Robert Yarbrough
William B. Zieburtz, Jr.